Make Your Own Destiny

It is not in the stars to hold our destiny but in ourselves. 

          – William Shakespeare

I am very aware that I, a sixteen year old girl with no idea where I am going in my life, am in no position to be posing existential questions on destiny and who controls it. I have not really been alive long enough to witness anything I would call “destiny”, but I have had my fair share of angsty teen drama, and the only thing that got me out of those situations that I would rather have not gotten myself into was an element of luck and a bit of quick thinking.

As my good friend Billy Shakespeare says up there, our destiny lies in the hands of no one but ourselves. I’m not saying that you have control over the hand you’re dealt, and I am very lucky in that respect and I appreciate it everyday. You do, however, have control over how you play it.

With the passing of each generation, we gain a little something more. Arguably we also lose something. Time is passing, constantly, whether we like it or not, and the world is growing, people are changing. Things are different now than they were five, ten, twenty years ago, and they are different than they will be five, ten, twenty years in the future. Everything is changing all the time. We, as a generation, as the human race, are constantly growing and changing.

I am not saying that this is a bad thing. Change, while scary, more often than not leads to something better. With each generation we are opening new doors, and while the old doors might seem closed by all the shiny new and exciting stuff, we still have the knowledge and the experience we, as the human race, gained from that.

Change is inevitable. We could avoid it, if we so chose, because (referring back to good ol Billy) “it is not in the stars to hold our destiny but in ourselves”. We make our own destiny, and if you don’t, then you’ll be missing out on opening all the cool doors. You’ll miss the generation you claim to be a part of. 

Believe whatever you believe. I know I do. You can believe that there is a plan, or that fate will guide you, or that there is no plan and there is nothing going on whatsoever. I personally have no idea. But whether you believe in destiny or not, it is your job to get there. There is no fixed path for you, so you need to get out and carve your own.

If I had to summarise my point (which, admittedly, is a little all over the place), I would say; get out there, open some doors, and give ‘em hell. 

Make your own destiny, and leave a good world for the next generation. Create a good world for this generation.
I will leave you with a quote from Mr Feeny that I have probably used before and will probably use again, because it will forever stick with me:

“Believe in yourselves. Dream. Try. Do good.”

Daily Prompt: Generation

2 thoughts on “Make Your Own Destiny

    • Thank you, I spend a lot of time thinking about the kind of world we are creating and what we are doing with it, so I’m happy to see that these thoughts affect someone else as well😊

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

