What’s in a Name?

Write about your first name: Are you named after someone or something? Are there any stories or associations attached to it? If you had the choice, would you rename yourself?

My name is Scarlett.

This is my namesake. Incase you were wondering, her name is also Scarlett.

image.jpeg

This is Katie Scarlett O’Hara, more commonly known as just Scarlett O’Hara. She is the protagonist of my mothers all time favourite film, Gone With the Wind. If you’re unfamiliar with the film, heres the synopsis:

“Epic Civil War drama focuses on the life of petulant southern belle Scarlett O’Hara (Vivien Leigh). Starting with her idyllic on a sprawling plantation, the film traces her survival through the tragic history of the South during the Civil War and Reconstruction, and her tangled love affairs with Ashley Wilkes (Leslie Howard) and Rhett Butler (Clark Gable).” source- Wikipedia

I have a bit of a love-hate relationship with this film, because personally I found it quite boring and it went on for a very long time (three hours and fifty eight minutes- that’s a lot of film), but Scarlett O’Hara does hold a special place in my heart. My mother often said that she wanted me to be as strong as her, and people who know the film often say that I have a lot to live up to.

So I suppose I’m happy to be named after someone who is remembered by fans for being strong and breaking stereotypes.

That said, growing up I was not a fan of it at all. I don’t actually remember why, but I was so determined to change it or acquire a nickname or something that I went through dozens of potential names before just giving up and settling on mine. Back then, if I had the option, I would have renamed myself in a heartbeat. But now, I think my name suits me and I don’t really want to change it. I can’t really imagine myself as anything other than a Scarlett, not really. I think none of the other names stuck for a reason.

My name is Scarlett, and that’s part of who I am.

Say Your Name

2 thoughts on “What’s in a Name?

Leave a Reply

