My Resolutions for 2016

Originally I wasn’t going to make resolutions this year, because I always end up just giving up on them after two weeks and never thinking about them again. I decided that this resolutions thing sounded disturbingly like a metaphor for everything I do in my life, so I quickly changed my mind and made some.

However, unlike literally every year of my life up until now, I am pretty determined to keep them this year. Some of these are more long term goals, some of them can be measured, but overall they are an accumulation of all the resolutions I’ve ever wished I would have stuck to and just… not.

This year I’m trying my very hardest to stick to them, and I’m more determined than I’ve ever been. I suppose I’ll just have to see if I can hack it or not.

Anyway, without further ado, my 2016 new year’s resolutions:

 

  1. STOP BEING A QUITTER`

Literally my biggest weakness. Start sticking to things more and start getting results.

  1. My blog: keep up to it.

Post at least once a week and get the pages and layout into better shape than they are in now. By the end of the year I want a very cool and super interesting blog that is very active and has lots of posts. Keep up with it and work harder on it.

  1. Drink more water

I’m horribly dehydrated like, 60% of the time. I just really don’t drink enough water and need to drink more.

  1. Get good grades on my GCSEs

This is it, the big year. I’ve been preparing for this for a long time. I want to revise well and get preferably all As (and maybe even A*s but that’s a bit of a leap). Just generally do well so I end up somewhere good for college/sixth form.

  1. Be heathier

I eat junk and I’m terribly out of shape. I would like to change that.

  1. Write a book

Make a serious attempt at a NaNoWriMo, and hopefully win. But I would like to make some serious progress with writing a novel at some point this year.

  1. Learn to touch type

It’s just a skill I really want and that would be super vital to me but I just haven’t made it happen yet. Hopefully this year I will.

  1. Do something every day to make myself happy

A lot of the time these days I’m super stressed and I feel like I often don’t do anything to make myself feel better about things. So at least once a day I’m going to do something to make me significantly happier, maybe something big, maybe something small, but something to clear my head and help me not get too buried in the things around me.

  1. Watch more films

I just really love films and want to watch more. Maybe it’s a media student thing, but I just want to watch as many films as I can at any given point. So I want to watch more, across much more of a variety of genres, budgets, country of origin, release date and cast. I feel like I often just stay in my comfort zone with films so I’d like to branch out more too, which is kind of like a sub-resolution.

  1. Take more pictures

Document my life more. Take more pictures of the things that make me happy, sad, angry, laugh, things that make me feel. Things I want to remember, things I think I might forget. Maybe I’ll buy a camera. I just want to take more pictures of the things I love.

 

Bonus: Make a film

I used to do this all the time, and I loved it, so I don’t know why I stopped. I want to make more short films, maybe a long film if I feel adventurous, and I would like to do it simply because I enjoy it. I miss doing it, so I’ll try doing it more this year.

 

Hopefully I can stick to at least a few of them this year.

Good luck.

2 thoughts on “My Resolutions for 2016

  1. All the best Scarlett. Some pretty good resolutions there! Sorry we haven’t been in contact for a while. Been revising all Christmas so the blog was kinda put to one side! Anyways, good luck!
    Henry

    Liked by 1 person

    • No worries, I kinda accidentally abandoned the blog during December too haha. I’m still struggling to keep on top of it now with the new year and revising and school work. Life is just super hectic right now.

      I hope your revising went well!! Good luck with everything this year.

      Scarlett

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

