Visiting a Trout Farm & Exploring God’s County

I live in Yorkshire, a beautiful place with rolling fields and baby sheep and a hundred thousand things to do.

And sometimes I have days where I remember just how much I’m missing by sitting indoors all day when some of the most breathtaking places in the world are right at my doorstep. Today was one of those days.

Due to slight delays caused by a very unwelcome traffic jam, we didn’t reach our first stop until after midday, but once we did it was well worth it. We visited a small village called Gargrave, had fish and chips (my meal of choice), and sat on a bench by a river to enjoy them in the company of nature. The food was great, and so was the area, but it was a little windier than would have been ideal. But I try to enjoy things wherever I can, so I tried my hardest to just take in the beautiful surroundings and enjoy my fish and chips with my jacket pulled as tightly around me as I could, and my hair blowing around in the wind (and occasionally ending up being eaten with a mouthful of fish- not the best of experiences). We stayed in that area for a few hours, just letting the dogs exhaust some energy by running through the stream and attempting to do the stepping stones without toppling off. 

After we had our fun in Gargrave, we returned to our car, and drove to a hiking spot in the hills with the most beautiful views. Even if walking through a valley created kind of a wind tunnel, I grit my teeth and carried on walking because it was such an enjoyable walk. 

However, we are not hikers, so we returned to the car after a short walk and carried on our adventure. We drove for a while and found another stop, a wildlife walk by a reservoir, but once we walked down to the gate we discovered that it was a “No Dogs Allowed” area, so back to the car we all went. 

Our next and final stop was at Kilnsey Park, a trout farm. I had been before, but not since I was a little kid, and was pretty convinced that a trout farm was going to be just as exciting as it sounded. 

I was pleasantly surprised, since I actually had a really good time. I enjoyed seeing the animals, and feeding the trout, and just generally looking around. It was really interesting, and a great experience. Also, I got to see some Rainbow Trout, with actual rainbow stripes across their bellies, which in my opinion is pretty cool.

I had a great day, and plover seeing more of the beautiful area I live in. Yorkshire really does have some of the most breathtaking sights in the world, and I’m so glad I got to see some of them today.

Leave a Reply

